Debbies World of Books
Debbie's World of Books

If you like this author you might like…

December 12th, 2008 by dsuzuki

So I know I am always looking for authors similar to the ones I like and I also hear other people asking the same thing.  So I know not all people have the same tastes but here are some of my thoughts.

Chick Lit

I’ve been on a roll with Chick Lit lately but am relatively new to the genre.  So far my favorite has been Something Blue by Emily Giffin.  This is a sequel to Something Borrowed which was also fun but Something Blue was better in my opinion.  I did not enjoy her other two books, Love the One You’re With or Baby Proof.  Other chick lit books I thought were fun were The Smart One and the Pretty One by Claire La Zeibnik, The Paper Marriage by Susan Kay Law and The Reading Group by Elizabeth Noble.  Sophie Kinsella so far has been a pretty fun author to read as well.  Flirting With Forty by Jane Porter is a must read book.

Romance Books

One of my favorites is Julie Garwood.  Her historical novels are the ones I enjoy the most.  So if you like her you might enjoy Johanna Lindsey‘s Malory series and Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton seriesStephanie Laurens Cynster series and Bastion Club series weren’t bad but I didn’t enjoy they them as much as the Malorys and Bridgertons.

Supernatural Romances

I mention below that Charlaine Harris‘ Southern Vampire series is a fun read (I didn’t care for book 1 but the rest were really good).  I also thought Christine Feehan‘s Ghostwalker series(psychically enhanced people)  is great and lately I have enjoyed her most recent Carpathian (Dark series) vampire books.  Gena Showalter has a great Lords of the Underworld.

Twilight

If you like the Twilight series you might want to check out Cassandra Clare‘s Mortal Instruments series.   This is another YA series and it was great.  The Vampire Diaries by LJ Smith is another YA series that was a lot like Twilight.  Smith also wrote another series about witches called, The Secret Circle, which I also really enjoyed.  And of course there is the Harry Potter series which I’m sure everyone knows about.  For adults you might also want to check out Charlaine Harris’s Sookie Stackhouse/Southern Vampire series.  It does have a lot more sex in it though.

My all time favorite YA vampire series (I thought it was even better than Twiligt) is the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead and you have to check those out.

Another fun vampire YA series is the Blue Bloods series by Melissa De La Cruz.

A non-vampire but fun YA series is the Uglies by Scott Westerfeld. I finished all three books and loved the series although Uglies is by far the best of the three.

Action/Adventure

I’ve really gotten into Matthew Reilly‘s books.  They are kind of military/conspiracy/adventure books.  My favorites are Temple, the books about Scarecrow and the two Jack West books that are out so far.  If you like Reilly you might also like James Rollins and possibly Douglas Preston/Lincoln Child.   For Preston/Child the earlier books were better in my opinion.  Relic was probably my favorite.

That’s it for now.  One author that I really like but haven’t been able to find any other series that I was as into was Mercedes Lackey and her heralds of Valdemar books.  I’ve read them all except the latest (Foundation) which I have on request.  I have not liked a single recent book she has come out not in the Valdemar series and pretty much have given up on her.  I’ve tried Anne McCaffrey, David Eddings, George RR Martin but haven’t found one that really grabbed me.  Any suggestions would be great.

Books for the YA girl or the young at heart

Here is a list I put together for the Buy Books For the Holidays 2009 project.

Vampire Books

Here is a shopping list of vampire books I also put together for the Buy Books For the Holidays 2009 project.

Posted in Books

9 Responses

  1. J. Kaye

    I’ve only read one Julie Garwood book and loved it!

  2. drey

    This is an awesome post, Debbie! I’ve always wanted to put something like this together, but I wouldn’t be able to organize or ‘splain it quite as cohesively! =P

  3. dsuzuki

    Thanks Drey! I really need to update it since I’ve found some other great authors.

  4. Jennifer

    I don’t read a lot of Adventure novels, but I really enjoy the Dirk Pitt novels by Clive Cussler.

  5. dsuzuki

    I read one Dirk Pitt book and thought it was a little slow going. May have to try another one though. Keep hearing good things.

  6. Carla aka LovesSam

    I love The Mortal Insturments series, totally knocks the Twilight Saga off the top spot in my opinion. The MI series is my fave YA series by far.

    Plus, I loved the Charlaine Harris books, you should try the werecats by Rachel Vincent, they are amazing < my favourite adult series. More fantasy with a lot of romance and good looking boys.

    And, I <3 the Vampire Academy books too, Dimitri *swoon* And, Sophie Kinsella is such a good writer, "Can you keep a Secret" ia hilarious 🙂

    Great Post!

  7. dsuzuki

    Thanks Carla! Is that Rachel Vincent series the one with Prey? I have that on my wish list.

  8. Carla aka LovesSam

    Yeah, its the one with Prey, they are really good, ant wait to see what you think of them 🙂

  9. dsuzuki

    Cool! Hope to get to them next year.

Leave a Comment

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.

Current [email protected] *