Debbie's World of Books
My book reviews, book news & random rants

Arrows of the Queen (Book 1 The Heralds of Valdemar) by Mercedes Lackey

December 19th, 2008 by Debbie's World of Books


I definitely give this one a 5 out of 5 stars.

Description from

Chosen by the Companion Rolan, a mystical horse-like being with powers beyond imagining, Talia, once a runaway, has now become a trainee Herald, destined to become one of the Queens’s own elite guard. For Talia has certain awakening talents of the mind that only a Companion like Rolan can truly sense.

But as Talia struggles to master her unique abilities, time is running out. For conspiracy is brewing in Valdemar, a deadly treason which could destroy Queen and kingdom. Opposed by unknown enemies capable of both diabolical magic and treacherous assassination, the Queen must turn to Talia and the Heralds for aid in protecting the realm and insuring the future of the queen’s heir, a child already in danger of becoming bespelled by the Queen’s own foes.

I just reread this book for probably the 20th or more time.  I would have to say this is probably one of my favorite Valdemar books.  By the Sword was my favorite and this one is a close second along with her Mage Storms series.  The second and third books in the Heralds of Valdemar series weren’t bad but I enjoyed seeing the transformation for Tahlia going from abused farm girl to the second most powerful herald in the Kingdom.  Tahlia was a fun character and I could actually picture her in my mind as she struggled to over come her shyness and her skill in dealing with the Brat (Queen Selenay’s daughter).   I could relate to some of her self-esteem issues as I often felt the same way.  This is definitely a fun read especially if you read some of her newer books that give you the background of the other characters like Alberich and Skif.

Posted in 5 Star Books, Books, Fantasy

2 Responses

  1. Ladytink_534 (Jen)

    I’ve never heard of these before. They sound neat!

  2. dsuzuki

    Oh I really enjoy them. The Mage Storms series are great but if you really want to get to know all the characters you should start with at least the Heralds of Valdemar series. The only ones I wouldn’t start with are They Black Gryphon, White Gryphon and Silver Gryphon. I thought those were just ok.

Leave a Comment

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.